Channel Catfishing 101 For Beginners

Discussion in 'Catfishing Library' started by JERMSQUIRM, Feb 4, 2008.

1. JERMSQUIRM

JERMSQUIRM New Member

State:
    il-waynesv
    OK cabin fever has set in so I gotta talk fishing. Been working to much to squirrel hunt.

For the new guys and beginners in channel catfishing I'll try and help answer some Questions before they are asked. I do a lot of channel catfishing and have some knowlage to share. I am not an expert per say but catch my fair share.

To begin start with a decent set up. nothing against zebco 33's or 33 combos, I still have one and fished with them all my young life, but I would suggest something a bit better. When that fish of a lifetime comes you want pictures, not bad memories of broken line or stripped gears.

If your budget wont allow $100 or more maybe go with an 808 or 733 hog zebco. Now I won't own a 733 because most don't have an adjustable drag. That's no good in my opinion. Or get a large spinning reel. Tiger rods and berkley big game rods are within a small budget, and now Wal-Mart has some large combos for bigger fish to fit most any budget.

If your budget allows a bit more an ABU 5500 or 6000 is a very good all pourpose catfish reel and one of the top prefered on this site and an ugly stick makes a great companion to the rod.

Once ya get a good rod and reel that fits, go with a good line. I have had great luck from both berkley big game and stren high impact line. I usually go with 15-20lb test. If you decide to use a braided line be warned; while some don't do it, others will literaly cut your rod tip like a hacksaw. So a ceramic tip might be a good investment.