central valley help

Discussion in 'LOCAL CALIFORNIA TALK' started by thecapitan, Nov 11, 2005.

1. thecapitan

thecapitan New Member

State:
    california
    i have recently got back into fishing after a several year hiatus, my prob is i havent caught anything in months!!!!!! i used to do alot of salt water fishing, but im kinda new to fresh water. maybe you guys can offer a newbie some pointers. what i usually do is i set my HEAVY rod ( used ta be my shark rod ) fer catfish, i use a line with a weight at bottom, and small treb;le hooks, 1st hook is 2 inches up, second hook is 6 inches from bottom, third hook is 18 inches from bottom, each has 3-4 inches of line attaching it to main line, then i use blood bait. is this a good cat setup? i got my two pole stamp so my second rod is either my fly rod, or i use spinner baits fer trout, or sometimes i use a dropshot rig fer bass/trout or i use the same catfish setup on my heavy pole but i use trout powerbait. no luck in 8 trips er so!!!!!
    I fish succsess lake if ure familiar with it, and sometimes kaweah. am i doing something wrong? or is it just my five year old who sometimes likes to throw rocks in the water? also i am limitted to what shore spots i can use since most are a good hike down steep areas and my five year old cant make it down, plus the lake water is low.
    any help would be appreciated thanx

2. Capt Steve

Capt Steve Active Member

State:
    Clovis, CA
    Call the CDF and check the legality of your rig. I believe we are limited to one treble hook or two single point hooks when bait fishing. I use chicken liver with some powdered or chopped garlic on it. I use sharp Gamagatsu single hooks, one on the end and one on about a 1 ft leader about 3 ft above the end, then a swivel and a bead with a sliding weight above that. Fish at night if you can.

3. daystarchis

daystarchis New Member

State:
    Clovis Cali