Central Pennsylvania catfishing

Discussion in 'PENNSYLVANIA RIVERS TALK' started by tbartek, Mar 18, 2006.

1. tbartek

tbartek New Member Supporting Member

State:
    New Germany, PA
    Hi everyone, I'm new to the BOC and would like to get some tips on places to fish the central part of the state. I usually frequent the little juniata in the Huntingdon area and also the "big" juniata in the Lewistown area. Any and all tips would be greatly appreciated.:)

2. tbartek

State:
    New Germany, PA
    Wow, I must be the only one in the center of the state that likes to fish for cats. I'm so proud:)

3. Baitkiller

Baitkiller New Member

State:
    Akron, Ohio
    tbartek

Looks like you may have it all to yourself there. Nice thing is you can have a local BOC Gathering every time you go ;) !

Regarding the Channel Cats in your area. I only go for Channels here in NE Ohio in mid May to about mid June. What I do IF I go is to a spillway below Lake Milton in Ohio. From what I see there is that the Channels do a pre-spawn run up to the dam to feed on Shad than "BIG TIME"!! The river there at the spillway is from 2 ft to about 4 ft deep and when they are in I slay them. IF you can find the right spot and use worms, cut bait or Chubs cut or live. I've caught as many as 6-7 plus 27 inchers in as little as 4 hours, along with a bunch of other smaller ones. The 18 3/4#er in my profile was taken there and am looking to break the 20# mark. High water is good too, don't stay home due to high water!!! I use a bobber and cast around till I find where they are sitting for it changes all the time. From what I've see after 9AM is when they hit the best there through the daylight hours.

No reason for me to fish for them any other time of the year.

Time fer the Flatheads!!!!!!!!

I hope this helps ya.

4. cjb10876

cjb10876 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvania