Cavitation plate & keel

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by SS minner, Sep 12, 2009.

1. SS minner

SS minner New Member

State:
    California, Missouri
    I have a 1967 Merc 110 9.8 h.p. motor I've been running for the past two years. I,m trying to get as much top end speed as possible. When mounted on the boat the Cavitation plate is 2 inches under the bottom of the boat. Do any of you think it would help the performance to raise it even with the keel?

2. countryboy79

countryboy79 New Member

State:
    nc
    I'am not sure about that but I'll tell you what i done. I got a 60 hp on a 16 foot jon boat. I run in a lot of shallow water so i raised the motor up to the last hole in the mont. Its about 4 inches higher than what its post to be. Doing that made my boat have more top end speed. Maybe that will help you.

3. oh no

oh no New Member

State:
    Indiana
    On racing boats,,, the center line of the prop is just under the water,,,,lol,,, that's why they have such a big rooster tail.

That is a little impractical,,, but that is the way they run,,,lol,

I don't think 2" below is too far down. You probably need more HP or a different prop or a whale tail.

Last edited: Sep 13, 2009
  4. oh no

oh no New Member

State:
    Indiana
    Hey check behind your carbs,,, sometimes small motors have restrictor plates that only allow so much air in,,,like NASCAR,,,, the racers I know get them out of the way,,,,Gain some HP.

The little hydro planes use adustable expansion chambers,,,, that slide in and out like a trombone,,,,lol,,them little buggers will do 60 mph with old 10 hp Mercs....

5. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill