catfishing tips appreciated

Discussion in 'ARKANSAS RIVERS TALK' started by tallmanrus, Jul 21, 2008.

1. tallmanrus

tallmanrus New Member

State:
    arkansas
    Gotta question all. Im kinda new at this -fishing below the dam thing . Really like it BUT is there a better setup to keep out of the rocks ?or just keep makeing more sinkers

2. boliver

boliver New Member

State:
    Rudy Ark
    I used to fish a lot below l&d 13 i never found a way to keep from getting hung. If I caught a fish and could keep it up i usually got it in otherwise i hung up a lot.Make your first pull hard and reel fast helps also fishing downstream from where you are at helps. Using the claw sinkers with wires rolled up toward eye helps. Using a sinker sacrificer won't keep you from getting hung but usuall will let you catch fish that gets on. otherwise just keep pouring lead.lol

3. FLATHEAD STEVE

FLATHEAD STEVE New Member

State:
    DESMOINES IOWA
    Try fishing upstream of where your casting using a slip-float rig:wink:

4. catfishjon

catfishjon New Member

State:
    texas
    I rig enough weight to keep the bait in one spot. I tie a three way swivel three feet above the weight. I attach the weight with 12 lb test so it will break off before the main line snaps. My main line is 30 lb test. I tie a foot long leader to the three way swivel with 30 lb test, and use a 11/0 mustad circle hook loaded with cut shad or big earth worms. I lose a lot of weights, but I catch a lot of fish. Catfishjon

5. puppypal

puppypal New Member

State:
    Sheridan, Ar
    My Hubby, yanks really hard & reels the line in fast as he can (when river fishing) to try NOT to get hung up in the rocks. Still he manages quite often to get all hung up {LOL}. Think it is partly due to bank/dam fishing....