Catfishing setup

Discussion in 'LOCAL SOUTH CAROLINA TALK' started by stuckinthehole3, Mar 6, 2007.

1. stuckinthehole3

stuckinthehole3 New Member

State:
    SC
    im new to catfishing and i havent had much luck yet. wut set up do u use? rod? reel? line? tackle? any information would be helpful. i go to clemson but my boat is in greenville. i mostly fish hartwell but wouldnt mind somewhere else since i havent had much luck.

2. WylieCat

WylieCat Well-Known Member

State:
    NC
    I'll use small words since you are a Clemson student...LOL!!! :lol:

Seriously, there are two primary set-ups; drifting and anchoring. From these two you can vary how you fish dramatically. Either way you can fish anywhere in the water column.

If you have a boat and a trolling motor, then drifting is the best way to cover a lot of water. Most people drift with baits near the bottom using drift rigs.

Anchoring will usually provide bigger fish, though not always the case, but you are locked to one area.

3. SubnetZero

SubnetZero New Member

State:
    Sherman IL
  4. Rottdog

Rottdog New Member

State:
    Missouri
    To begin with it would be very helpful to know what your goals are: Channels, Blues, Flats and how big?
    Basically to start I would just put together a descent Rod and Reel Combo, depending on what you want to spend. Wal-Mart, or any other local sporting goods store should be able to help you out. Not knowing what size fish your after, I would recommend that you get yourself some 20 lb test line and as far as hooks and bait go the sky is the limit. There is many different ideas on hooks and on bait. I would refer you to the B.O.C. library for the rest. There is so much information in there at your fingertips, you'll be reeling them in no time.

Hope some of this helps,
    Garrett

5. Ghost River

Ghost River New Member

State:
    Carolina