Catfishing - Newbie To the Sport

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by StormCaster, Mar 17, 2006.

1. StormCaster

StormCaster New Member

State:
    New York
    I am new to catfishing. Mainly I have been a saltwater pier and surf fisherman for what seems like forever. Reading through the threads I am strucked by size of the catfish and the different kinds. I am from New York (downstate) and want a general idea of what types of rods & reels are good. Mainly I have a lot of conventional gear and some may or may not be suited for catfishing. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. TDawgNOk

TDawgNOk Gathering Monitor (Instigator)

State:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Ty, I understand wanting to make sure you have the right equipment.

Question being, what TYPE of cats are you going to be targeting?

This is important because if you are going only for eating sized channels, you could use an ultra light rod/reel on up.

If you are going for eating sized blues or flats, well, ya might want something in the medium range.

If you are goin for the HOGS, well, I'll let someone who has caught a hog explain what you will need for them.

3. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    Welcome to the BOC!!!

There are many rod and reel combinations out there to choose from.

I prefer a Bait caster to a spinning reel, but that is your choice to make. I also don't use 2pc rods, I generaly stick with a 7' med heavey rod and use 40lb mono. Hooks and weights are another thing that you have to decide on. In a lake or pond setting you will need less weight than in a river (no current). I use 7/0 to 10/0 kahle hooks because they seem to be better to me than any other I have used in the past.

Keep reading and asking questions and you will come up with your own conclusion on what you will need for the size fish you are looking for.

4. Catchinbiguns

Catchinbiguns Member

State:
    Kansas City, Ks