Catfishing near OKC

Discussion in 'LOCAL OKLAHOMA TALK' started by snakeman455, Mar 29, 2007.

1. snakeman455

snakeman455 New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I'm pretty new to catfishing and live in OKC. Any place close to get some good size cats??? Draper and Thunderbird are real close to me, not sure how they are though. Anyone know??

2. troyedm

troyedm New Member

State:
    edmond oklahoma
    i suppose draper is ok???? thunderbird is excelent. go to the little axe campground and you should do good. me and a friend will be going around april 30th if you would like to go with us. i have a big pontoon and got the lowdown on where to catch them at little axe. pm me if you would like to go with us. i live in edmond, friend lives in moore.

3. troyedm

troyedm New Member

State:
    edmond oklahoma
    welcome to the board, lot of good info here.

4. snakeman455

snakeman455 New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Thanks Troy. I would love to go with you guys. I tried to pm you but said I couldn't until I had more posts.

5. Okccatman

Okccatman New Member

State:
    Norman,Ok
    Troy,
    Curiosity has gotten to me. Where do you fish at Little Axe? I go to T-bird alot during the summer and that is where we always camp and fish. There's good Saugeye fishing to the left of the boat ramp there in the sand bowls.

I also wonder how the water level is. I got a letter in the mail from the MDA saying the "Big Catch" tourney was canceled this year. I am assumeing that it was because of the water level. Last year it was pretty bad. And this year I was told you could pretty much walk across the road bed.

I can put you on all the Crappie you want out there. Do you fish Crappie out there much?

Dave

6. mtrimble

mtrimble New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    If you like bushwacking and have some patience there is some good flathead fishing in the North Canadian. Nearly all the bridges east of the city are decent at times. Also, the river above Overholser is really nice.