Catfishing near harrison bay

Discussion in 'LOCAL TENNESSEE TALK' started by antfish, Apr 1, 2006.

1. antfish

antfish New Member

Does anyone know any spots near here that i can go fishing at? If you can answer, can you include day or night and type of baits to use? If y'all could that would be great.

Thanks,
    Anthony

2. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    This early in the year, I would think the outlet of the nuclear plant would be excellent. I've fished the nookie outlet here in Arkansas every spring for over 20 years.

3. antfish

antfish New Member

Thanks Jerry!:) What baits would be best there?:confused: I've never fished near a nuclear plant. Also I'm still kind of new at the Catfishing game. Thanks again and I hope God gives you and everyone else a nice day, a nice time, and a big ol' cat.:cool:

Thanks,
    Anthony

4. fish

fish Active Member

State:
    ChattanoogaTenn
    Anthony, you might want to try to catch some skipjack at the Chickamauga Dam and head down stream but there should be some good fishing near the Nuke plant like Jerry said.

By the way, we are having a gathering at Harrison Bay State Park May 5, 6, and 7. We sure would like to meet you in person. Come on down if you get a chance, I am sure someone will be glad to put you on some good cats. Check out the Chattanooga gathering thread for all the details.

5. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    In central Arkansas, on the Arkansas River, fresh shad & skipjack are far and away the best baits you can use. Old timers I've talked to told me, "If you ain't got shad, ain't no use in going fishing". And back when I was commercial fishing part time, I didn't take any other bait except a couple of buckets of fresh caught shad. Skipjack can work even better, but they can be hard to catch.

6. antfish

antfish New Member