Catfishing Lafayette/Opelousas area.

Discussion in 'LOUISIANA RIVERS TALK' started by nightrider, Aug 4, 2006.

1. nightrider

nightrider New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    I'm new to the BOC and live in the lower central part of the state. Plenty of fishing holes down here. If you would like to post any information on here about your favorite spot in this area feel free to do on this thread.

2. Louisiana Redneck

Louisiana Redneck New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    Good afternoon,

have you tried fishing in Henderson lakes. Have you had any luck? If so, what did you catch and what was you bait?

3. nightrider

nightrider New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    I have not fished Henderson in years.Went fishing in the Atchafalaya river just north of Henderson for catfish a few weeks ago. Caught a few on nightcrawlers. Went two weeks ago to Millers Lake in Ville Platte for bream, kept 35 nice ones (worms and crickets). The skies were overcast and looked like it wanted to rain the entire time. The bigger bream we caught came from inside the lilly pads. Look for holes inside a grouping of pads and put your line in it. Water was 3'-4' deep. Going to bring a buddy to Doubisson Lake in the morning for catfish.

4. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    There used to be a gal from Carencro that would chime in once in awhile. She fished those spots you mentioned. Her brother still lives in Lafayette. He's a welder named Casey that works for an outfit that builds swamp buggy's.

I've been to two gatherings down there at Chico State Park. Look for another one in Feb, about Mardi Gra time. The last one was cancelled cause the were using the park as a Katrina refugee camp:crazy:

5. nightrider

nightrider New Member

State:
    Louisiana