Catfishing in the Phoenix Metro Area.

Discussion in 'LOCAL ARIZONA TALK' started by willdavidix, May 2, 2007.

1. willdavidix

willdavidix New Member

State:
    Arizona
    Hello,

I am new to the BOC but luve to catfish. I'm not able to go out to the lakes and rivers as much as I would like. But I have found the Phoenix area canals to be a Catfish haven. Every time I go out I catch a stringer full of 1 to 2 lbs channel cat, with an occasional 5+ pounder. Counts are about 10 to 25 in about 2 hours. I also have caught 1 27lb Flatty from the canal. Anybody else have any experience fishing the canals in Phoenix?

2. Tym2Fish

Tym2Fish New Member

State:
    Scottsdale Arizona
    First of all welcome to the BOC.
    I used to fish the canals years ago. Now most areas are restricted but I used to fish the canal on Hayden road just south of Indian Bend. It was a really productive spot but I havent been there in a long..long time.
    Once again welcome to the BOC!!

3. SilencedMajority

SilencedMajority New Member

State:
    White Mtns, AZ
    I used to fish the canal behind my house a few years back. Used to hook into rather big channels, largest probably around 10 lbs, but I could never pull them up the side. Now, I go hit up the canal for large carp for cutbait for other fishing trips. Haven't caught a cat in there for a few years. Convenient fishing, thats for sure.

4. splitshot

splitshot New Member

State:
    Coxsakie,N.Y.
    Welcome to the BOC Dave, were glad your here!

5. Dirkdigler33

Dirkdigler33 New Member

State:
    arizona
    I never knew the canals were such good fishing.What do you use for bait (for carp and Catfish).Also doesn't the current bring it back to the side of the bank?

6. SilencedMajority

SilencedMajority New Member

State:
    White Mtns, AZ