Catfishing in streams?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by tomcat85, Jul 23, 2006.

1. tomcat85

tomcat85 New Member

State:
    uh
    so ive only really been catfishing for just this season so im very new to it. i was wondering i fish at lake arthur and there is a dam at one end. there are 3 streams that run off of it. i think there might be cats in there im not sure. i was wondering if you guys could give me a few tips on how to fish for catfish in an area like this and how to look for a good spot to where they might be hiding. any help would be great. thanks brothers!

2. dcaruthers

dcaruthers New Member

State:
    Alabama
    I would try to fish the mouth of the streams. Put one line out in the middle of where it cuts into the lake and then 1 on each side where the water creates a boil and possible a sand dune. If there is any structure near the mouth...fish it hard.

3. shortshank

shortshank New Member

State:
    Oregon
    I'm not sure I've got this right, the streams are coming into the lake, or are they going away from the dam? If they are dumping into the lake, I'd hit them right where they dump in, especially if they have good water flowing into the lake. I would choose the one stream with the most water and find some brush or a nice deep hole. Good Luck!
    Don

4. barbel

barbel New Member

State:
    Somewhere
    You are in luck! These little streams like what you are talking about is what I fish the most. What I would look for is a nice deep hole (usually in a bend in a river) and then try to find some structure in there. If you can, cast like 3 feet in front of it with (I like) chicken livers on a nice little 2/0 to 4/0 J or circle hook. Either one will work usually, since the cats in the little streams are usually pretty enthusiastic.

5. Redd

Redd New Member

State:
    Southeast Kansas