Catfishing Dialogs?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by catfishrollo, Jan 26, 2010.

1. catfishrollo

catfishrollo New Member

State:
    Ohio
    In consideration of Kip's moon phase thread for flatheads, who else keeps a seasonal dialog of flatheads caught? I have been doing this for a few years now, and love it! I keep a spreadsheet on such catagories from date caught, time caught, fish weight, water temp, moon phase, bait caught on, water depth, water clarity, method of fishing ( 3-way bottom rig, slip-float suspended etc.) river or lake water level stage, system fished, location fish caught on waterway, weather pattern, air temp. Sounds like alot, but when you setup a spreadsheet on Excel into different catagories, its actually easy to keep a running log throughout the year. Just an idea for those that have never considered doing this. It's pretty neat to print them off, placing them in a folder to be able to sit down and review year to year to look for such patterns.. Goodluck....rollo

2. USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT

USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT New Member

I,ve got log books from the last 15 years.Not on computer,just hand written in note books.It only takes a couple years worth before they start becoming invaluable.It,s amazing,the stuff you think you,re not gonna forget,then you look back through at the end of the year and it all comes back to ya!I keep day and date I fished,time I fished,water conditions(temp,color,river stage,how fast),who I fished with,how everybody did,baits used,method used,how others around us did.I also put down anything that was unusal that happened.Best thing a newcomer to catfish could start doing.

Last edited: Jan 26, 2010

3. corklabus

corklabus New Member

State:
    West Virginia