Catfishing Baits and Times

Discussion in 'MARYLAND RIVER TALK' started by Jim Johndon, Sep 2, 2006.

1. Jim Johndon

Jim Johndon New Member

State:
    VA
    Hi all,

I have bought Catifish Charlie Type A, and i am told it doenst work. Does anyone know the best catifsh bait and how to use it? also, what are good times to go down to the potomac to fish? Thanks..

PS also, i hear noon is a good time b/c the cat's come in to get the fish closer to shore. I live near Roosevelt Island, and usually fish in that, near the parking lot.

2. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

I have never used that stinkbait before. As for what baits to use, I think natural baits would be your best bet. If there are shad, herring, skipjack are carp in the waters you fish I would start with those. Times, to me, are not as important as you may think. While I have caught big catfish at night all of my biggest fish have been caught during the day. I like to fish early in the morning through late afternnon early evening. Good luck in your adventures and don't believe the hype about the Charlie's stinkbait, There are several post mentioning good and bad about it, so until you try it for yourself, you never really know.

3. TIM HAGAN

TIM HAGAN New Member

State:
    Walkersvil
    Jim I dont catch much along the island there not alot of water around the parking lot. I would try the upper end of the island there is a deeper hole there and some big rocks in the water as well. As for the bait just try your bait and see what it does for you. I would say you will mostly catch eater size fish with the bait but every now and then a bigger fish can be taken. If after you have used it and your not happy with the bait I can hook you up with some Danny King Bait I know it work in the potomac I have used it on my guide service for two years there and have put 1000's of cats in the boat with it.