catfish

Discussion in 'LOCAL SOUTH CAROLINA TALK' started by bone3160, Jul 25, 2009.

1. bone3160

bone3160 New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Can anyone tell me how to drift fish?I know this sounds stupid but I was just wondering if you use a big cork or on the bottom?

2. bone3160

bone3160 New Member

State:
    South Carolina

3. Redneck in a Skiboat

Redneck in a Skiboat New Member

State:
    South Caro
    I'm no pro at anything, but I'll give you my take on drifting. First it is a bottom fishing method. The boat is usually moved along by the wind. Some people use drift socks, buckets with holes drilled in them, or even dragging some weight or chain on the bottom to control the speed of the drift. You can use the trolling motor to move the boat into the wind for a controlled speed drift. You can also use your trolling motor if there is no wind to move the boat along. The speed can be checked by using a GPS. I think most people drift along about 1 to 1.5 mph. Any way its pretty slow, but not sitting still. The rods are placed in rod holders either on the rear or side of the boat. Some pontoons drift sideways. The lines are put out at staggered distances to avoid tangling. The sinker or weight is usually a slinky or some other no snag sinker. I make my own and they vary from 3/4 to 1.5 ounces. Next use a good swivel with a 12 to 18 inch leader tied to it. I peg a 2 inch float about 4 or 5 inches from my hook. Play with the weight and float in shallow water or even a swimming pool to find the right set up. Mine are balanced so if the weight hit something its not so heavy that it will not hop over it. I use circle hooks to help keep from getting hung up, and the fish sets the hook himself (no need to jerk). Hook size depends on what you are fishing for. Channels I'd go with a 4/0 or so, blues I'd use a 7/0 or 8/0. Some people even go bigger than that. Bait is pretty much up to you.