Catfish Petition " Catfish Rescue "

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by DeerHunter01, Jan 22, 2008.

1. DeerHunter01

DeerHunter01 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Petition Site: Click Here to Sign Petition

January 21, 2008

Dear Anglers,

My name is Paul louderback and I have been a resident, fisherman and sportsman license holder of Tennessee all my life. I, personally, know the treasure that we have in our state, the trophy catfish. I have fished all across this country. Now, certain commercial fishermen have brought forward an effort to jeopardize not only the trophy catfish, but what is becoming a growing tourism attraction and resource of Tennessee.

The minority group of commercial fishermen have joined together to fight the laws placed on protecting trophy catfish including a proposed law to stop the transportation of trophy cats across state lines with the intention of sale and would like to see the current 34 inch limit lifted in my opinion to:

1 .Exploit the markets and profit from the damaging effects of the population of our catfish.

2. They believe in the myth of over abundance of catfish in Tennessee. This is not true of trophy catfish. They, in comparison, to other catfish are a rarity.

3. They would have you believe they want to harvest big fish for consumer purposes. As a former owner of the Historical Botel Restaurant in Pickwick, TN. and the son of a commercial fisherman, I know the catfish market and its demand is for fish of 1-3 pounds, not trophy catfish which exceed 34 inches.

4. Trophy catfish are wanted by these fishermen to be harvested and sold to pay lakes in other states and I have seen these practices first hand. Big cats take decades to grow and by removing them it can take years to replace, if at all. By taking these fish, they also remove the potential gene pool to create more such fish.