Catfish Newbie Here

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by raiderhawk, Aug 1, 2009.

1. raiderhawk

raiderhawk New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Hey guys this is a great site! I am just starting to get into catfishing, been a bass fisherman all my life, and I am struggling figuring out where to fish. Are sandbars good places? I fish a small river and there is a sand bar with a crick running into it, its not very deep 5-6ft probably? And there is a wing dam that is like 200 yards down river. I fish from the shore. Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Catfish_Scooter

Catfish_Scooter New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    The sandbar and wing dam are 2 good places for cats. Although that depth at the sandbar may be a lil too shallow, Try goin down to the wing dam and give it a shot. If ya need to know about baits & such be sure to go to the catfish baits section and also when ya got time swing by the member library. Im AJ if ya ever need anything post a visitor msg on my profile.. Be Glad to help. Welcome to the BOC man.

3. Sound

Sound New Member

State:
    Arkadelphi
    Welcome to the BOC.

4. bedbug jr

bedbug jr New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Welcome to the BOC where you'll find a great bunch of guys and gals as well as answers to almost any question you may have. Stay safe and good fishing!!!:wink:

5. Catmanblues

Catmanblues New Member

State:
    S.E Ohio
    Welcome aboard the BOC Mark. Both places you described would be fairly decent spots I would think. You'll have to try them out an let us know the out come.

6. daystarchis

daystarchis New Member

State:
    Clovis Cali
    Welcome to the best Catfish community in the world. Great info here brother. Spend some time and gather up a bunch of iformation:wink: Might be some local BOC folks in your area too. Feel free to ask questions and post answers brother:wink:

7. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois