Catfish identifiCATion?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by fattiresc, Jan 24, 2006.

1. fattiresc

fattiresc New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    I have been catching catfish for 15 years, granted not as big or as plentiful as most here. Catfishing started appealing to me by the style of fishing. I grew up bass fishing and started catfishing 15 years ago. Until recently, I have not been able to fish at the lake like I would have wanted. When my dad and I use to go every weekend growing up, it was for bass or bream. These days I am older and have bought my own boat. I am now targeting the fish I love and the fishing style I love, catfishing. But, I find myself having trouble identifying the fish I am catching. Can someone explain/post pictures that show the difference between a channel/blue/flathead? I am assuming the blue is the grayish looking one. I can't rememer ever catching one that is the grayish color. Most of the ones I have caught are greenish brown or brown. I think I have caught some flatheads because the heads are flatish. I just want to learn as much as I can about these fish and want to be ale to identify them as I catch them. And I know I am going to open a can of worms here, but which are the best to eat? And when you say they are the best to eat, do you mean fry. fillet, broil, or grill? I have never heard of anyone grilling catfish, but I have fried them before and enjoyed them much!!!

Any help is appreciated, and thanks in advance. This website/message board is the best!

Thanks.

~Jason

2. RiverratSC

RiverratSC Active Member

State:
    Gaffney, SC
    What lakes are you fishing?

3. fattiresc

fattiresc New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Lake Murray, looks like near you. Most I have caught have been in Lake Murray, Lake Norman (Charlotte), and local ponds.

4. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio