Catfish - Bacon for bait

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by scuffy, Apr 9, 2006.

1. scuffy

scuffy New Member

State:
    TENNESSEE
    I like to try new baits. I've never tried bacon or salt pork before.
    whats the best way to rig it. Type and size hook, wrapped or threaded.
    Thanks,
    Steve

2. RamRod

RamRod New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I've tried the bacon before with some success on channels. I cut the strips in 1/4 lengths and rolled em up and put em on a circle hook while drift fishing. The key is to warm them up the microwave in a ziploc bag, just enough to get the grease starting to come out of them. You can also leave the bag sit out a bit in the sun on warmer days to really get the grease going. :0a26:

3. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    I kinda like my bacon surrounded by eggs, if not that, then on two slices of bread with mayonaisse. LOL

4. Oldtroll

Oldtroll New Member

State:
    King NC.

Bacon works really good as bait, it does on me anyway, I smell it cooking and I come a runnin.. lol.
    I have used it as bait for crawdads, then used them for cats, but never outright used bacon as catfish bait.

Just thought I would put in my 2 cents worth.....lol

5. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    I generally use 5/0 kahle hooks for rod & reel fishing. When baiting with bacon, I lay out a strip and cut it into 1" to 1 1/2" lengths, depending on the width of the strip. Then I simply thread it onto the hook. I wasn't sure just how well it would stay on the hook, and I was very surprised that it not only stayed on, but was actually moderately difficult to get off the hook. I cut salt pork into 1/2" cubes and run the hook through the toughest part. Don't know that I've ever had salt pork come off the hook till I took it off.

6. David Knotts

David Knotts New Member

State:
    Bossier City, La
    I tried to use bacon as bait one time. But it never made it to the lake.:rolleyes: