Catching so many mooneye my arms hurt

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by CATDADDY78, Jun 20, 2006.

1. CATDADDY78

CATDADDY78 New Member

State:
    Missouri
    hey brothers i just wanted to tell yall how great the mooneye herring are biting for me on the missouri. we caught about 125 mooneye yesterday and 150+ today. its my first time fishing for herring and its alot of fun. they put up a better fight than any fish ive caught, similar to a trout.
    just thought id tell yall how good the mooneye are biting:lol:

2. btmfdr

btmfdr New Member

State:
    missouri
    how do you catch them? like skipjack? or do you use something else?
    any help would be appreciated. id like to get some alternative bait.
    thanks

3. brad kilpatrick

brad kilpatrick New Member

State:
    Kansas City
    Thats great Where are you at?

4. btmfdr

btmfdr New Member

State:
    missouri
    well brad i tell you what, ill answer your question for cat daddy if you can answer my question for him. hes in the st louis area. now... how do you catch em, with jigs and sabiki rigs like skipjack or is there some other means? i would appreciate any help you can can give me.

5. crazy

crazy New Member

State:
    Kansas CIty, MO
    I have always used white jigs around 1/16 oz. to catch them. Rooster tails also work well at times for them. The only place I have ever ran into the numbers game with them was on the missouri in Yankton SD. I have tried jigs here on the kansas once or twice with no luck. Maybe I'll go try it again this weekend on the missouri.

6. btmfdr

btmfdr New Member

State:
    missouri
    bet that... thanks josh

7. btmfdr

btmfdr New Member

State:
    missouri
    yeah shaun, 275 mooneye in two days? whew... that might be a record!!!roflmao

8. cpalombo

cpalombo New Member

State:
    Nashville TN
    How and where? Not the spot, but the type of location (wing dam end, slack water, etc)

Thanks

CP

9. CATDADDY78

CATDADDY78 New Member

State: