Catching smaller flatheads

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Apache Flats, Aug 8, 2008.

1. Apache Flats

Apache Flats New Member

State:
    Tucson, Az
    If I am catching alot of small flatheads in one area 5-10lbs and nothing bigger should I be trying a different spot ?????? I know when I caught my 30lb flat I did not catch smaller flats from the same area. Are the bigger flatheads loners or is there a mix of both. Thanks

2. mattoonboy4

mattoonboy4 New Member

State:
    Illinois
    just from my experience, i have caught anywhere from 4 pounders to 40 pounders in the same spot. i'm by no means an expert but i would assume that if a spot is filled with baitfish, it will attract a predator that is big OR small. however there are quite a few guys on here that will know more than me.

3. crankbait77

crankbait77 New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    There have been many nights when I have caught a 3 lbs flat, and then within 5 minutes caught a much larger 30 to 40 lbs fish. The difference normally for me was the size of the bait/hook. Just curious what size hook are you using?

4. Apache Flats

Apache Flats New Member

State:
    Tucson, Az
    Wesley, I use 7/0-10/0 circles depending on size of baitfish.

5. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    I would not give up just yet, sounds like you got a real nice hole. Keep us updated on your success

6. STALLIONDUCK

STALLIONDUCK New Member

State:
    Illinois
    i'd use a biger bait and if that doesnt do the trick try a new spot. i have the same problem i few years back i pulled a 40 pound flathead out a hole with a bankpole and ever since it has produced 20-30 pounders out of there and then last year i started catching ones that could easily be eaten by the big ones. i hope this helps.

7. shortbus

shortbus New Member

State:
    indiana