Catch & Release especially flathead catfish

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by petersoutcats, Feb 12, 2007.

1. petersoutcats

petersoutcats New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Catfish make great table fare but should the big ones be released, especially the Flatheads because of their Ferocity, and I understand their fairley Scarce.
    How many of y'all realease your fish?
    I here up to 8lbs makes the best tasting filet on your dinner plate, should the rest be thrown back >if not starving, and after pictures af course.
    I'm new to the sport and new to this sight, I hope I havent affended anyone from these questions thanks BOC.

2. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    Scott, Welcome to the BOC!!!
    You have not offended anyone with that question, as a matter of fact, I like eating fish myself but, I release anything over 10lbs and seldom keep any at all anymore. There are a few on here that will dissagree with my methods but, that is ok. At least they will have more fish to catch later because of my and many others efforts. Keep up the good work Brother!!!

3. james_s333

james_s333 New Member

State:
    byesville,ohio
    i dont keep nothing over 26 inches....a few pics if i have a camra handy and back they go

4. petersoutcats

petersoutcats New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Thanks for the welcome JW
    By the way I like twinkies too:wink:

5. Larry

Larry New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    I personally release all Flatheads.
    Channels I keep if they are under 5lbs and the water is less than 60F. The are more tasty when they come from cool water. Otherwise all fish go back so they can grow and I can catch them again.

Good question Mate!
    thanks
    Larry

6. bilyjojimbob

bilyjojimbob New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    I usually throw back the big flatheads. If I got a good crowd to feed I like a 15 to 20 lb blue. My personal favorite is a 5lb channel or blue. And welcome brother.

7. dankitch