Cat Maxx CMX3

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by Army Guy, Aug 19, 2008.

1. Army Guy

Army Guy New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I'm a beginner catfisherman and have invested into three reels. I have two Cat Maxx CMX3 reels and one Abu Garcia 6500. I've heard a lot of great things about the Abu but I want to know if anyone has had much success on the Cat Maxx? :0a31:

I ask because I am going to buy a fourth reel and found the Cat Maxx for 30 bucks at Bass Pro.

Attached Files:

2. BassMassey

BassMassey Well-Known Member

State:
    Oconee
    The garcia reel you can hand down to your grandkids....the catmaxx reel on the other hand I'm not so sure about. I do like to catmaxx rods, although people on here have had problems with their eyes.......

3. NeverBigEnough

NeverBigEnough Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I've used several of the Cat Maxx reels over the years. I really like them and they will handle anything on the other end of the line, but they just don't hold up as well the 6500's. When they start to age (2-3 seasons) you'll have problems. I've had a drag completely lockup. One of the thumb releases broke and the plastic caps on the tensioner will eventual strip. I thought they were a pretty good deal when you could catch them on sale at BP for 39.99. Last I checked though they went up quite a bit. I still have a couple I am using, but have been replacing them with 6500's as they wear out.

4. catfishking35

catfishking35 New Member

State:
    ohio
    welcome to boc first off. and i have never used a catmaxx i use the abu garcia 6500 c4. its a really good reel

5. fishnfwl

fishnfwl New Member

State:
    South Cent
    Welcome, About the same as the rest, they have been fine so far, but if you can swing the extra cash, I think in the long run ABU will be you best bet.

6. catfishcrazy256

catfishcrazy256 New Member

State:
    Indiana
    Welcome to the B O C ,And stay with the Abu reels ...

7. azcataholic

azcataholic New Member

State: