casting net preference ?

Discussion in 'LOCAL OKLAHOMA TALK' started by hog223, Mar 27, 2009.

1. hog223

hog223 New Member

State:
    southern logan county ok
    hey guys i'm fairly new to a casting net but i'm gonna get one to catch shad from shore & my boat. any recamondations on a size for a beginner & will a wal mart cheapy work ?

2. Noodler87

Noodler87 New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I recommend 5 or 6 foot for a beginner. The cheap cast net from Wally World will work fine as long as its at least 5 feet. 3 or 4 feet will give you a hard time catch bait... Once you get used to it try use 8 or 10 feet, they are pretty expensive but its worth and will catch a lot of bait..

3. Dirtdobber

Dirtdobber Guest Staff Member

State:
    Vian Okla
    I agree. All I use are the Wally World 5' nets.

Welcome the the BOC

4. crossxsticks

crossxsticks Member

State:
    oklahoma
    ahhh what ever ya can come up with will work , i like mono over nylon and from bank i like a 3.5 ft.

5. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Welcome to the BOC Paul. I use the wally world 5 footer also.

6. daniel-delarosa

daniel-delarosa New Member

State:
    seminole, oklahoma
    The smaller the better for me. I have a big one now and I cant use it:eek:oooh:

7. JEEPER

JEEPER New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    I am new at this to and got one from wally world 5 ft

8. fishinphenom

fishinphenom New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    I use a 6 ft nylon casting net.. the nylon nets are harder to throw and get really heavy after a couple of throws and are not as durable though... The only reason I use it is so that i can also get smaller bait like minnows and ghost minnows... where as with the mono nets from wally world alot of times the smaller bait will slip through the holes...

9. caatstalker

caatstalker New Member

State:
    oklahoma