cast net demo at CCC meeting = good day at LNM

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by Bill Smith, Apr 14, 2008.

1. Bill Smith

Bill Smith New Member

State:
    north carolina
    I usually use a 5 ft. cast net to catch bait but after the April meeting of the Carolina Catfish Club where how to throw 8 ft cast nets was deminstrated I had to have one. Went to Lake Norman Saturday evening and lost my 5 ft net before I caught any bait. Got the new never thrown 8ft out and 3 bad throws and 1 good one I had bait.

Fished above 150 around the 3 islands from 6:30pm to 8:45 - 9 blues, one flathead and alot of wind. 11lb8oz was the biggest but all were 5lbs or better.

Thanks CCC :big_smile:

2. mhedrick

mhedrick Member

State:
    NC
    I've been using 9' and 10' nets for the past several years, and they seem to catch bait 10:1 v/s the smaller nets. A 10' net has 4x the surface area that a 5' net has. Calusa Nets has a good online video on how to throw them.

3. jerry9497

jerry9497 New Member

State:
    Tobaccoville NC
    I should have went. I threw a cheap 8' for a year, alot of hit and miss. one day it got hung up so I ran got another. all they had was a 6 ft so I got it. it throws like a dream. I wonder if I go get a high quality 8' if it will throw better. The way bait has been latly I need a 20 footer...with 1/16 mesh, darn minows. They say big bait on alcoa end of lake, I fish from BSR thats about 10 bucks in gas away(round trip) I guess I need to put little boat in to go get bait because the pontoon really uses the gas.

4. WylieCat

WylieCat Well-Known Member

State:
    NC
    Thanks to Tomahawk, Billfish76, and Mudkip for demonstrating their techniques for throwing the nets. I am glad to hear that someone learned something from the presentation.

5. catfisherman_eky3

catfisherman_eky3 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
  6. Bryan8552

Bryan8552 New Member

State:
    nc