Cast Iron Skillet Biscuits??

Discussion in 'The BOC Diner' started by oh no, Jan 25, 2008.

1. oh no

oh no New Member

State:
    Indiana
    When I was a youngun, my dad and I visited my brotherinlaws parents in WV. His mom made biscuits in a skillet on the wood range. Boy they were biscuits and gravy to die for. Man they were good.

I have never made good biscuits. When my kids were little I would try, and my biscuits became known as gruesome biscuits. As they grew some. lol

Ladys and Gentlemen how do you make biscuits in a cast iron skillet?? What's the secret??? What is the recipe??? Was I born to far up north??

I need some learnen.

:big_smile:

2. txthumper1691

txthumper1691 New Member

State:
    Temple, Tx.
    I can get you th recipe, just give me 24 hrs, gotta find it amongst all my other recipes. I am a cook by trade, and do alot of camping w/my wife n kids, but havent made th biscuits in a loooong time, but I promise I will get u that recipe.

3. john catfish young

john catfish young New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I'm not sure about the iron skillet recipe. I do know that lilgriz has been making some awesome buttermilk bisquits using his cast iron dutch oven. Takes some flour and some oil and some buttermilk stirring them together to get a stiff mix. Puts them into the dutch oven and sets it onto some ambers from the fire and then places ambers on top and in about 20 minutes or so.....BAM...some of the best bisquits you could ever hope for. So even if the fish aint biting ..we sure are.:wink:

4. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR