Carp in the Cold ?

Discussion in 'Carp Fishing' started by Bacardipr05, Nov 7, 2007.

1. Bacardipr05

Bacardipr05 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan
    I have heard or been told carp prefer cooler temperatures. In your experience is this true and if so how cool(cold) we talking about here. For that matter is anyone still attempting to land one....

2. mcwrestler

mcwrestler New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    In Tn where I am it is still getting to the temps it should be so I am still going at it. When the water gets real cold they still bite but metablolism drops and they consume less. They should be gourging themselves the last few weeks before the temps drop. I also saw an article on ice fishing for carp so it is never too cold. If there is a warm water discharge (Steam Plant) near you it should be a hotspot come winter.

3. ozzy

ozzy New Member

State:
    Lost Wages
    Thanks for the info, been wondering that myself as its my first year of serious carp fishing.

4. Bacardipr05

Bacardipr05 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan
    Same here ozzy weather isn't cooperating mid 50's i think from here on out. Was hoping for a few days more of at least mid 60's weather. We already had an "extended summer" though so I guess its asking for too much.

5. ozzy

ozzy New Member

State:
    Lost Wages
    Bacardipr05 , I cant wait for it to cool down. Today was mid 80's, last year at this time was in the 50's.

6. countrycat15

countrycat15 New Member

State:
    gastiona,nc
    the big buffs 60+ pounds are just starting to bite good in the rivers from what my friends say....should be good fishin till the end of december.

7. Montgomery

Montgomery New Member

State:
    OHIO
    i seen a discovery channel show i think. and they said the carp was the only fish who metabolisim doesn't slow down. that they are just as active as summer.

8. Bacardipr05

Bacardipr05 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan