Carp in cooler water

Discussion in 'Carp Fishing' started by skeetermagnet, Oct 13, 2006.

1. skeetermagnet

skeetermagnet New Member

State:
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    I must admit I'm fairly new to catching carp on purpose. I've fished enough that I've caught them accidentally several times. But I've been lurking and studying quite a bit. I live in central Oklahoma where the water gets pretty stinkin warm in the summer and cools down quite a bit in the winter. From what I understand, the carp slow down when the water cools off.

What changes do I need to make for fall and winter fishing? Do the same baits work? Should I just hang it up during the winter?

Thanks...

2. tomcat85

tomcat85 New Member

State:
    uh
    good questions i was wondering the same thing.

3. villaitefla

villaitefla New Member

State:
    Florida
    Carp continue to feed during the winter, despite what you might read. One thing to consider is that they don't eat anywhere near as much as they do in the warmer months. Usually this time of year they will go on a feeding binge to put a few pounds of fat on to get them thru the winter.
    October is one of my favourite months to go after carp. To successfully catch carp in the winter, restrict the amount of chum you throw in to a minimum, and scale down the bait size. For instance ...... in the summer during a typical 4-5hr session, I would put in 6lb of corn + 2-3lbs of breadcrumb all mixed up together. Fish 4-5 grains on a hair rig, using a 2 or 4 size hook. ..... in the winter I would throw in at the very most a tin of corn, usually less, and fish 1 grain on a hair, and a 10 or 12 hook. Always find the deeper parts of the water you fish, and stick at it. The satisfaction of taking a "summer" fish in the snow is well worth the wait.
    Good luck with those winter carp ....... now my "winter" carp are a different story in Orlando .... :smile2:

4. skeetermagnet

skeetermagnet New Member

State:
    Edmond, Oklahoma