Carp fishing

Discussion in 'Carp Fishing' started by CatfishHateMe, Jan 27, 2007.

1. CatfishHateMe

CatfishHateMe New Member

State:
    Il
    ok, im new to carp fishing but want to get into it and maybe start using one of my 3 rods to try and catch carp with while catfishing (dont worry catfishing is always gunna be my #1 priority in life:tounge_out: ) but i got bord today and decided to find all of the carp recipies i could on the internet and put them together. i used strawberry wheaties, a couple peices or whole grain wheat bread, vanilla extract, a beer, some corn, and few drops of syrup, and to make it real doughy i added some flour. i call it "J.P. HAMBLENS SUPER BAIT" super bait cuz its a combo of a bunch of differnt recipies:tounge_out: not sure if it will work but ill try. also, does anyone else fish for carp? what size/style hooks for 20+ pound carp? normal cat rod and reels(10' mh with 40 pound test)? where to fish for them at? and if anyone post on a carp only forum id like to find one. thanks

2. riverdawg-1

riverdawg-1 New Member

State:
    salem, va
    Carp have relatively small mouths for their size. Even for 20# plus fish, a #2 or 2/0 circle should do fine. Your "superbait" sounds like it will wrok just fine. good luck!

3. F150Catfish

F150Catfish New Member

State:
    Wisconsin
    sometimes I caught carps on minnow, liver, and nightcrawlers. I caught 16pound carp on minnow.. well I use 4 to 8lbs test line but I am good on that lines but I would say you can get about 10 to 12 lbs line test. I don't care any fishing poles, you can get one. I would say I use medium or medium heavy rod.

4. CoonX

CoonX Member

State:
    Oklahoma City O
    For the dough bait, keep it simple.
    1. 24oz Wheaties, crushed fine
    2. 12oz can of Strawberry or Pineapple Jumex
    3. Mix and let sit for 15 minutes
    4. Mold onto a hair-rigged spring