Carl's Worm Making Process

Discussion in 'Catfishing Library' started by Stubby, Aug 22, 2008.

1. Stubby

Stubby New Member

State:
    Kansas, Ar
    July 2008

I’ve posted a few times about Stink/Dip bait and how I use someone else’s bait and just add ground shad to it to make it richer. Over the years I used mostly Ben Harths & Sonnys. There have been a few others but it don’t take long to eliminate the commercial ones that get on the market for profit sales at places like Wal-Mart.

I’ve been making my own Stink/Dip bait worms for at least 25 years and after talking to Whistler, we decided that an article on mold making and worm pouring might have some interest on the BOC. I’m going to try to show you how to make a couple of the block type molds. A block mold is a mold that has a cavity in it for which you pour a material into the cavity and make a part or in this case a dip worm. In other words we make a hole in something that has the shape of a worm that we can fill over and over with plastic material to make our own warms. The commercial dip worms are much prettier than the ones we will make but pretty is for fishermen and worms are for fish. There is no doubt that the Bait makes the worm so all we gotta do is make a worm that will hold bait.

FIRST ITEM: The material in a dip worm is: Liquid Plastic a String & a Hook. The only reason we need the ridges in the worm is to hold the dip bait. The string is to hold the hook and the hook is to catch the fish. Shape of the worm don’t matter, if it will hold the bait. Shape of the hook don’t matter, if it will catch the fish. Color can be added to the liquid plastic to catch fishermen. The string and the hook can be added to the worm later by using a long needle but I have always liked to pour the plastic material around the string so it would grip on to the hook and hold better. How ever it makes the mold trickier to make if the mold also has to hold the string in place.