Cape Fear @ burgaw help

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA RIVERS TALK' started by jimshady, Mar 23, 2008.

1. jimshady

jimshady New Member

State:
    north carolina
    I am thinking about hitting the Cape fear around burgaw here soon, does anyone have any suggestions for me? I have night crawlers, some commercial stink baits and a few live eels. I have no experienceo n this river and not much luck period on catfish so far, any help appreciated. :eek:oooh:

2. catfish98054

catfish98054 New Member

State:
    hampstead,
    not much experince in that part of river,fish the bends and holes good luck

3. jimshady

jimshady New Member

State:
    north carolina
    I ended up going the night follwoing this post. Stayed from about 5 til 9 or so, I got 1 bowfin and a couple of Taps but nothing else ( the bowfin came on nightcrawlers) A guy I work with said its probably because I ended up some no name creek and not the actual river but who knows.

4. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    My advice is to use the worms to catch some bait.
    Another secret I'll divulge here on the BOC.
    I use minnows alot on the neuse river and a 3 inch minnow believe it or will catch some huge flatheads.
    Most of the large flatheads we catch are off minnows.:wink:
    Flatheads in the 40-50 pound class.

Another bait I use. Finger mullet, Pogey, cigar fish.
    You can buy big boxes frozen at some of the Walmarts at the coast.
    I keep a supply laid in.

Eel. I'll use live and cut eel.
    If you use it live, clip the tail to keep him from digging in.

What we do is is carry several types of bait and we'll bait every setup different. Some with cut, some live, and some whole dead baits.
    We get a variety out there and see whats they are biting.

Beofre too long catfishing will be impossible where we fish. The gar will start their spawning. Aggravating to say the least.

5. jimshady

jimshady New Member

State:
    north carolina