Can't catch a flathead catfish

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by reelking92, Jun 11, 2007.

1. reelking92

reelking92 New Member

State:
    MI
    My name is karen ward and i have been catfishing for three years and caught only one flathead while fishing for channel cats. I live on the st. joseph river in the lower part of michigan and its supposed to be great for flatheads. any tips to help me catch a good one?

2. maddcatter

maddcatter New Member

State:
    Newark, Oh
    What are you using for bait?

3. GETHOOKED

GETHOOKED New Member

State:
    Arizona, Scott
    fresh live bait, bluegills, carp, suckers, etc. Put them on a HEAVY line,1-2 oz wt, with a 1-3 foot leader, set your clicker and hold on. Best of luck

4. reelking92

reelking92 New Member

State:
    MI
    i've been using live bluegills up to 6 inches as well as small carp but i have never even got a solid strike.

5. Polish Moose

Polish Moose New Member

State:
    Illinois
    What kind of areas are available to fish on that river? Holes with adjacent flats, down timber, dams, etc. You might get lucky and hook into one occasionally by chance, but by finding specific areas that consistantly hold fish you can up your odds.

6. pk_powell

pk_powell New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Welcome to the BOC from Missouri! You are blessed that you have caught one I am a lady who has never had the privledge! Perhaps someday my luck will change,I certainly hope so! You will enjoy this place it is the most wonderful and safest place to be on the Web!! We are all family!!:smile2:

7. reelking92

reelking92 New Member

State:
    MI
    there are scattered lojams, many holes, some wtih shallow flats nearby. The entire river is only 4or 5 feet deep int the summer and even the deepest holes rarely exceed ten feet in depth.

8. g.kempf

g.kempf New Member

State:
    Iowa