Can anyone suggest a good non-abu reel that will mostly be used in the Ohio River?

Discussion in 'LOCAL OHIO TALK' started by kitsinni, Jul 27, 2009.

1. kitsinni

kitsinni New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I am looking for a good catfishing baitcaster that will be used from a boat on the river mostly. I have had some bad Abu experiences. When their reels are working I love them, they are my favorite, but I am getting tired of the issues. I have a 7000c3 and sometimes you have to spin the handle 5 times to get it to engage, I have an older 6500c3 and the anti-reverse quit working, I just bought two brand new 6500c3 from bass pro and both of them started grinding on my first fish. So I think I am going to try something else.

Does anyone have any suggestions on other good reels to try? I would like them to be able to cast a descent amount but I will be in a boat mostly so that is a secondary concern. I just need a good clicker, hold a descent amount of line, a good drag and handle a big cat without much issue. I was looking at Penn 209/309. I use a lot of pleuger reels for my smaller spinning outfits maybe they have a quality baitcaster?

2. Blacky

Blacky New Member

State:
    Philadelphia, P
    Penn 525 MAG or if you wanna spend some money, the PENN International Series are great reels!

3. boyd79

boyd79 New Member

State:
    illinois
    i got two 9000 big game reels for the ohio and cumbarland river. i tried my 6500 black cats, did well with 50lb fish in mild curent. but at the smithland dam those big boys woudn,t let me do anything but hang on till all my line was gone, u hook a 100lb pluse blue in 40 mile an hour curent its just like hookin a car on the enterstate:smile2:. hopefully my 9000 will get me that record blue.:big_smile::big_smile:

4. Dirtdobber

Dirtdobber Guest Staff Member

State:
    Vian Okla
    Shakespeare Tidewater reels work good if you don't want to throw very far.

5. getthenet

getthenet New Member

State:
    ohio