Can Anyone Recommend a Good Steelhead Rod?

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by festus, Oct 14, 2009.

1. festus

festus New Member

I don't intend to fish for steelhead, I just need a good longhandled, light spinning rod about 8' to 10' to cast light and medium lures and baits from shore, 4-10 lb test line. A couple years ago a friend let me borrow his for a weekend and I was really impressed with it. However, since I'm going to be using it from the bank I don't want to sink much money in it. I have seen Okumas online for about $35, a couple of folks in their reviews say the tip is easily broken, but most everyone else really like those. This will be for white bass, crappie, largemouth, smallmouth, trout and maybe light catfishing.

Last edited: Oct 14, 2009
  2. waynesburgjay

waynesburgjay New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan
    I got one for about $50 @gander mountain its a shakespeare agility,
    10' 6" rated for 2-8 lb line I've been using it for steelhead for 2 years and it's holding up fine

3. festus

festus New Member

Thanks Jay. I found 2 reviews online for the Agility. One fisherman liked his, and the other said his broke after 3 hours of use. This was the 8' 6" model, however. He said his was brittle, maybe he just got a bad one.

4. Iowa_Josh

Iowa_Josh New Member

State:
    Central Iowa
    Anything cheap with high % graphite you will find stories of broken ones. Even expensive ones you will find that to some extent too.

5. xnmcclurex

xnmcclurex New Member

State:
    Pittsburgh Pa
    i bought a 9' medium action ugly stick and it casts a mile with 8lb line.

6. festus

festus New Member

That's about the price range I was looking for Nick, about $60-$70. And I have a couple of Ugly Sticks already, other sizes and purposes, of course. How heavy are the baits you are casting with 8 lb. test? 1/4 oz to 1 oz?

7. kscathunter

kscathunter New Member

State:
    Louisburg,
  8. festus

festus New Member