CAMP COOKIN’

Discussion in 'LUKE CLAYTON' started by Luke Clayton, Sep 4, 2009.

1. Luke Clayton

Luke Clayton New Member

State:
    Texas
    "CAMP COOKIN’"
    by Luke Clayton

[​IMG]
    Luke Clayton

Like many veteran sportsmen, I’m an avid camp cook. I love to transform the fruits of my hunting and fishing trips into tasty meals, at camp and back at home. Scheduling time to cook into a busy hunting or fishing trip can be tough. After all, hunting or fishing is the primary reason for the outing, right? Yes, but you and your buddies/family still have to eat! Why settle for a peanut butter and jelly sandwich when a tasty meal that everyone will remember can be easily prepared and, with a little forethought, allow you plenty of time to enjoy the primary reason you are outdoors: hunting and fishing!

Some of my favorite ‘camp’ meals require a couple hours to prepare. I learned a long time ago not to wait until after the evening hunt to begin these more time consuming meals. There’s always the option of preparing the meals at home, packing them in the ice cooler and heating them up at camp but, that’s just not ‘camp cooking’. I enjoy cooking at camp, over hardwood coals, a camp stove or, if there is electricity handy, slow smoking meats overnight on my Smokin Tex electric smoker. Here’s some of my tried and tested recipes that are easy to prepare and well received at camp:

[​IMG]
    Photo courtesy of Luke Clayton.