Camo - the point is?

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by TDawgNOk, Sep 20, 2007.

1. TDawgNOk

TDawgNOk Gathering Monitor (Instigator)

State:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Ok, first off, I'm new to hunting. Heck, haven't even gone out yet. I'm a little confused. My buddy who I'm supposed to go hunting with has stated that I need to buy some camo clothes. But I don't get what the point is. Why wear camo, when you have to wear a bright orange vest anyway? Also, from some of what I've seen on here, people who are acting normally in the woods, ie not sneaking around, have an odd tendancy to see more deer. If this is the case, once again, why spend hundreds, if not thousands of dollars on camo?

2. Katmandeux

Katmandeux New Member

State:
    Checotah, Oklahoma
    Dude, without camo, you're out of uniform!:wink:

Seriously, it's a fair question, I don't have an answer, other than to observe that most people believe that if they're hard for other humans to see, the same must hold true for deer.

3. rich-online

rich-online New Member

State:
    California
    One of the things I've seen out here is international orange camouflage clothing. The theory is that the deer are colorblind, and that the pattern of light and dark prevents you from presenting a solid outline, making it harder for the deer to notice you at a distance.

-- Rich, who hasn't been mistaken for a fish yet.:wink:

4. baitchunker

baitchunker New Member

State:
    alabama
    aside from looking kool:wink: at the camp with the fellas.

the main purpose of camo is to break up the pattern and outline of your body. true you have to where blaze orange, and also true deer are mostly color blind. but they can see shades, and more importantly lines and curves.