Cajun Red line

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by grizzly, Jul 1, 2007.

1. grizzly

grizzly New Member

State:
    Griffithville, Arkansas
    Anyone else use the Cajun Red. I started last year using the 6lb for crappie and found it to be really tough line. This year I started using 20lb on my crappie trolling poles where a 10lb+ gar is common. We catch a lot of gar and grinnel[bowfin] which can chew up line quick. This line holds up so good I was thinking of using 40 or 50 for leaders for cattin.

2. Mac-b

Mac-b Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

State:
    North Caro
    Bro., I have been using Cajun Red line for 3 or 4 years for catfish and stripers. I fish five days a week and my line gets a lot of abuse and yet it still performs. There is a lot (25 to 28 percent) stretch in it, same as most mono lines. It curls when it first comes off the reel, but after it lies in the water a minute or so, the curl/memory is gone for that day. I use 30 pound line for the cats and 10 to 12 pound for the stripers. For the shock leader I use 40 to 50 pound Cajun.

3. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

I use it alot as well and like it. My results are the same as posted above me. I use the Advantage though.

4. cumberlandcat

cumberlandcat New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I goota say I have always been for braided power pro and berkly but I have caught some of my biggest fish on 30lb cajun red line. Last week I caught a 54.3 lber on 30 lb test and it was the best fighting fish I have ever fought. And my pb 66lbs. ended up being caught on that same rod on 30 lb test. I thought of it as cheap junk at first but I may put some 40lb on all my rods as cheap as it is and as decent as it has been to me.

5. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    I have always been a berkley man but have liked the performance of 30# Cajan Red. I would recommend it.:big_smile:

6. BAMA_CAT

BAMA_CAT New Member

State:
    Boaz,ALABAMA