Cabela's Salt Striker combo

Discussion in 'LOCAL KANSAS TALK' started by Kansas Tree Rat, Feb 18, 2009.

1. Kansas Tree Rat

Kansas Tree Rat New Member

State:
    Waverly, Kansas
    Just an FYI for anyone looking for some new gear. Cabelas has a Salt Striker BAIT FEEDER 6500 spinning combo with a King Kat rod on sale for $49.99. I have been using 3 of these reels for a couple of years and really like them. Baitfeeder spinning is all I ever use. I think I paid about this much for the reel alone. Don't know much about the King Kat rod but this is a heck of a deal for this outfit.
    Sale ends this sunday 2/22.

2. lendog

lendog New Member

State:
    berks, PA
    i use the king kat poles and also have a salt striker 6500, those are a great set-up at a great price

3. delbert bumbleshoot

delbert bumbleshoot New Member

State:
    Overland Park,Kansas
    I saw that it is a good deal. Just a warning on the reel...I use them for channel cats on a salmon rod.I have broken a gear inside 'em twice on the hookset.Where the base attaches is plastic. You would think that since the reel proposes to be salt water it would be heavy duty but the frame is made of plastic.Last summer I was fighting a 8 lb. channel and the reel broke at the seat.I had posted a pic of the reel in 2 pieces it won't let you use the same pic twice or I would post it.If you look up the Pleasonton thread ks lakes it's in there. I still use this same reel but Cabela's has replaced it free 3 times.

4. unclebuncle

unclebuncle New Member

State:
    Humboldt,K
    Lucky you to live near cabelas.

5. readingcatfisher

readingcatfisher New Member

State:
    Berks coun
    I have to back Lendog on this those reels seem very strong maybe you just got defective batch :confused2:

6. Dsage

Dsage Active Member

State:
    Topeka, Kansas