Buying First Jon Boat--Fit on my Pathfinder?

Discussion in 'Boating' started by chrislrob, Nov 29, 2009.

1. chrislrob

chrislrob New Member

State:
    illinois
    Hi all,

Beautiful site.

I've read a couple of dozen threads here over the last few days. I am a newbie fisherman buying his first jon boat. I plan to use it on small lakes, ponds, and rivers in Illinois and Indiana.

After a lot of research, I am thinking a used 12 to 14 foot flat bottomed aluminum.

I've got two problems. First, I am 6'1" and weigh 285 lbs.

Second, I do not want to use a boat trailer.

I am worried that I won't be able to either transport my boat safely or that I will struggle to get it on and off of my 1997 Nissan Pathfinder SUV.

I have become extra-worried now that I realize that I need as wide a boat as possible. This probably means that I will have to cartop--it won't fit inside.

I think I've read most of the threads touching on this, but does anyone have any advice, encouragement, or experience with throwing a wide body 12-14 footer on top of an SUV, that I might have missed?

Thanks.

Chris

P.S. This site is a goldmine for a city slicker like me! :big_smile:

2. Jollymon

Jollymon Well-Known Member

State:
    Wilm .N.C
    Chris sorry i can,t realy help you with your question on hauling your boat ,but i would like to welcome you to the B.O.C..

3. DANZIG

DANZIG New Member

State:
    West Virginia
    Personally, I found that "car topping", even with just a little ten footer, gets old very quick.
    I can't imagine that a wide 14 fter would be anything but plain aggravation to "car top" on a regular basis.

Round my parts we have a couple of Muskie fishermen who just use a small flatbed utility trailer (looks like a Harbor Freight special) to haul their's. It's not pretty, but it gets the job done and is useful for other purposes.

4. roadkill636

roadkill636 New Member

State:
    warrenton misso
    you can always stuff it in your trunk, Hee Hee Ha Ha Ha !!!!