Buy boat out of State-legal ?'s

Discussion in 'Boating' started by Shootandfish1, Sep 27, 2007.

1. Shootandfish1

Shootandfish1 New Member

State:
    kentucky
    Most folks know about me being interested in the Grizzy 2072 and yes it is my fault for not looking at them sooner before leaving for Florida.None are available locally

I have had time today trying to get some information and I thought somebody here may be able to help.

One thought was to buy a boat in Florida, go fishing for several weeks, then bring the boat back home with me about the middle of Nov.

I'm a full-time KY resident. If I already had a boat with KY licence, I can use it for 90 days in Florida without registering the boat in Florida. Note that KY does't require smaller trailers to be licenced. As long as the trailer is attached to my truck which has KY tags there is no problem with the trailer when in Florida.

If a buy a boat and trailer in Florida, I know that I have to pay Florida taxes, But I will recieve a credit for the taxes paid when I return home to KY.

The dealer at Bass Pro in Orlando told me that I had 10 days from purchasing to use boat in Florida waters and then I had to either have the boat registered in my home state or register the boat and trailer(?) in Florida for a cost of about $175. I would lose this money when I return home and register the boat in KY.

I did find on the net that one has 30 days from purchase to get boat and trailor licensed (must have bill of sale at all time) instead of the 10 days that Bass Pro quoted. I called several tax and vehicle license offices today but got the classic runaround.

To compound everything My home, KY, county clerk will not let license the boat while I am in Florida. The lady told me that the boat had to be in my home county before they could license it.