bullhead question

Discussion in 'LOCAL NORTH CAROLINA TALK' started by Akjufrog, Jun 2, 2008.

1. Akjufrog

Akjufrog New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    The newbie here has a bullhead question. I know nothing about catfishing other than what I’m learning on a couple of catfishing forums. So here goes, My Son 7yrs and My Daughter 9yrs love to go night fishing with me, we caught 7 bullheads( Atleast I think they are bullheads) tonight with the largest being 1.2lbs. Ever single one of them swallowed the hook. Do bullheads always swallow the hook?
    My children and I are strictly catch and release so what are the best hooks that are easiest to remove without hurting these little Cats.
    Thanks
    Matt B.

2. Tomahawk

Tomahawk New Member

State:
    NC
    Thise fish you caught weren't bullheads. Bullheads are mostly up north. What you caught was whitecats. And yes they are hook swollowing fish. For the most part they are real pain when fishing with cutbait. BAdin and Tillery are full of them.

3. Quint

Quint New Member

State:
    N.C.
    We have plenty of Bull Heads here in NC both the brown and yellow species. The black species is a northern species that I have not caught here in NC. I have caught Bull Heads in ponds, creeks, rivers, and reservoirs all over the state. Have also caught my share of White Cats primarily in reservoirs. My suggestion would be to use light tackle to cut back on gut hooks.

4. NewMexicoCatfisher

NewMexicoCatfisher New Member

State:
    Alameda, New Mexico
    I use a 1/0 Kahle hook when fishing for bullheads. Bullheads are small but, they've got huge mouths. I also strictly catch and release and I find kahles do the lease damage to fish.

5. baitnwait

baitnwait New Member

State:
    North Carolina