Building my catboat, what should I include???

Discussion in 'Boat Modification Journal' started by Dallaskatdaddy, Oct 29, 2008.

1. Dallaskatdaddy

Dallaskatdaddy New Member

State:
    Texas
    Hello everyone, I am new to the BOC and I need a little help. I have my very first boat, its a 70somthing 15ft fiberglass trihull with a 70 hp johnson. Its a piece of junk that I am rebuilding and I hope to turn it into my catfishing boat. I own and operate a paint and bodyshop and I'm in sales of automotive finishes so I know how each process works and how to do the repairs. I have no idea what I should include in the build, do you guys have any ideas or info??? I have already broken it down and redid the fiberglass on the inside, ripped out the glass, refinished the outside of it in white acrylic enamel. I broke down and refinished the trailer also in white with black fenders also in acrylic enamel. I welded on a new trailer coupler, new tires, new chains. I am going to spray in a tintable bed liner on the inside also white. Should i add holders, lights, a table ect???? Any ideas will help.

2. Brentkeele

Brentkeele New Member

State:
    Nokomis, Illinois
    first things first, Welcome to the BOC!!

Rod holders, and lots of 'em in my opinion, are a must on any cat boat. Also, do you plan to fish tournaments in this boat? If so, you will need some sort of live well set up on it. If not, then the livewell will be up to personaly preference. I like to have as much dry storage as possible as well.

Since a lot of catfishing is done at night, you will need, at the minimum, anchor and navigation lights. Other lighting concerns to consider are interior lighting (a lot of guys like to use red to preserve their night vision) and possibly some black lighting (this is only helpful if you use monofilament, not braided line)