Bridge Pier Fishing

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by back channel, Feb 20, 2008.

1. back channel

back channel Member

State:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    First, I am not that experienced with flathead fishing although I have got a few.

How would you fish this situation? What type of rig would be best?

Second, I fish from the bank.

At one of my spots There is a bridge pier probably 25-35 yards out. I know it holds a lot of fish. From the edge of the water to the bridge pier it runs shallow to 5 or 6 feet deep with a highly rocky bottom (more like 80-90 pound rocks). Then about 7 yards from the pier there is a huge drop off to about 17 feet. This is were the fish hold. However, exactly to the left of it there is a under water pipe line that is huge. I brought a piece of it in.

Here is the problem. Any cast that is made gets you snaged automatically. At the drop off there is heavy current which does not help either. I know there is a lot of fish but due to snag city it is tough.

What type of rig wopuld be best in this situation?

I do fish both spinning and casting with a little higher ratio reels to help the retrieve not to get hanged up about 5:1.

Rods: Spinning tiger and catfish safari river rod
    Reels: Penn cativa live liner and abu black cat.

Any help would be great.

Thanks,

Scott

2. Gordhawk

Gordhawk New Member

State:
    Iowa
    How are you fishing it now? Tightlining on the bottom? You might want to try a slip bobber rig.

3. justwannano

justwannano Active Member

State:
    SE Iowa
    Have you ever seen a planer board?
    They are mostly used on boats to get lines away from your boat when trolling.
    They will work while still fishing in current.
    Might just work to get your bait into position.
    Ain't gonna help after you hook a bigun. You'll still have to get him out of the rocks.

You can find plans to build a good sized one by googling planer board.