Breaking in New Handguns: Best Hand Gun break in techniques

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by Thomas P. Conley, Dec 10, 2005.

1. Thomas P. Conley

Thomas P. Conley New Member

State:
    Copperas Cove,TX.
    I recently saw on TV a spot about breaking in a new handgun. It showed a different way that will make your barrels last much longer. You take and shoot once, clean gun and do this 5 times. Then shoot 5 rounds and clean gun do this for 6 times and you should have very little problems with buildup in your barrel. This was a S&W handgun show and a factory hand put on the demo. Seems like it will take a few hours of time to do this but the outcome would be of benefit.

2. okiecop

okiecop New Member

State:
    Grove, OK
    I'm no gun expert and not sure if it works or not. If that is S&W factory is putting out there then i wish they would put it in thier owners manuals. I bought a sigma .40 a year ago and have ran less than 150 rounds thru the pipe. Still dead on from the factory tho. I think unless you start shooting +p ammo or a lot of shooting w/o letting the weapon then you run the risk of burning out the barrel.

By the way my handgun was checked out by a police armorer before i ever put a single round through it. I think any good gun smith could provide the same service for you. Beside it is just a safety factor. Had a range master once that had boght a brand new ruger p85. He didn't have it checjed out before hand. When he tried to shoot he couldn't hit anything past 15 yrds. Upon breaking down the weapon he found out that only half of the barrel was rifled.

so please always have your weapons checked before you ever fire them.

3. Thomas P. Conley

State:
    Copperas Cove,TX.