Brand new boat problem..?

Discussion in 'Boating' started by BLKCLOUD, Oct 1, 2007.

1. BLKCLOUD

BLKCLOUD New Member

State:
    Pulaski Tn
    I just got a 2008 LOWE deck boat.. with a 175 optimax..I doesnt seem to go as fast as I thought it would, I called the company and the guy told me..she will run 48-50 mph..ok so why will mine only go 36..?? a little silence on the phone..sir..we are going to have to pick up your boat and tow it back to the factory to trim 3/8 of a inch from the back of the hull and re weld it..now I'm by no means a boat engineer but 3/8 of a inch off a 22'4" boat..??I just dont see it..have any of you ever heard of such??:confused2:

2. billNpam

billNpam Active Member

State:
    Alabama
    Intersting keep us posted

3. Barry Nelson

Barry Nelson New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Let us know, but best I can figure, it must be transom height ,as I cant see that little bit of length effecting performance. But if the transom height (17 or 21) is wrong then it could effect plane.
    Maybe even the angle of the transom was wrong?
    Im really interested in this out come, please let me know.

4. Grimpuppy

Grimpuppy New Member

State:
    Concordia, KS
    I think I would be pushing for a replacement boat. I wouldn't send a car back to the factory to have a new frame put under it. If it was built wrong, you don't want the headache of having to get it fixed. Who knows what else is wrong with it.

5. jim

jim New Member

State:
    Jacksonville NC
    Go to the Mercury website and use their prop selector.I will be surprised if you will get 50 out of that boat.I have a 21 ft Triumph CC with a 200 Optimax and it does 50 and I bet it weighs 1000lbs less than that deckboat.In any case it should go faster so use the prop selector to get a recommendation then check it against what you have in pitch and size.:smile2:

6. Nomdic1

Nomdic1 New Member

State:
    virginia