Braided lines and spinning reels

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by Sentry Dog Man, Oct 19, 2005.

1. Sentry Dog Man

Sentry Dog Man New Member

State:
    TN
    Most posts I have read concerning braided lines seem to be in relationship to baitcasting reels or no reel is mentioned at all. But, of course, I may have overlooked something. Although, I recall one poster saying that all they used was braid on their spinning reels.

I have no knowledge about the new braided lines, other than they are smaller in diameter than mono and have less stretch and possibly low memory.

Anyway, I would like to hear from spinning reel users only, who are using braided lines. Since, I am in the process of spooling up two new spinning reels and am thinking about using braided lines.

So, spinning reel users, what are your suggestions, comments, pro and cons on braided lines for spinning reels???? I will be putting the line on two Shimano 3500B baitrunner reels. And, thought that since it is the smallest of the baitrunners (available to us, in the US) that I would like to try some braided line in, maybe, the 30 lb test range. The line capacity of the 3500B (if I recall correctly) is 185 yds of either 14 or 15 lb test line.

Your suggestions, comments, and recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. JAYNC

JAYNC New Member

State:
    Newport N.C.
    I never had any luck with braids as a main line, for one it would be way too expensive for me since I have 5 of the bigger baitrunners. Plus if you use braid it is a pain in the butt to break off if you get a snag, most people end up cutting in and wasting a lot of money. One thing that happened to me on more than one occasion is the line would just spin around the spool when you tried to reel in, I guess you have to keep it super tight so it doesnt slip. These are the reasons I just use 80# gorilla braid for leaders only. I use 30# berkley big game for a main line.

3. cook

cook New Member

State: