Braided Line Question

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by brian88b, Oct 14, 2009.

1. brian88b

brian88b Member

State:
    Fairdale, KY
    Hey Bro's and Sis's I've never used braided line either but it seems like the way to go. I have read through most of the threads on "fishing line review" and can't seem to find what I'm looking for, a little help please. Now my understanding is that the braided line has been referred to as a "hacksaw" as far as wear and tear on the eyes. Is this myth or fact ????? Will I be safe dragging in hogs on my rods with my FUJI eyes that have the inserts or will I just eventually chew my eyes up. Do you have to use the eyes without inserts such as the ATC TITATIUM NITRIDE SCUE Casting Guides ??????????:confused2:

2. alton

alton New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I have been using braid for about 3 years and have no problems with the eyes on my rods. Your best chance for this problem will occur if you use a good rod when spooling on the braid. I would recommend using an older rod to mount your reel on when spooling on new line. I would imagine running 300 yards with tension across the rod tip eye may cause damage.
    Good luck.

3. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    When P-Pro came out there was problems with it cutting guides. Since then P-Pro changed their coating and claim this problem has been solved.

I use 65# and I have no problems at all.

4. santeefishhunter

santeefishhunter New Member

State:
    north caro
    You will not have any problems with braided line cutting your eyes at all. I have 15 rod/reel combo's for catfish and they are all ok. I do start off with a little bit of mono on the spool and then finish with braid so it won't slip,but that is all I do. I think you will love the braid if you give it a chance.:cool2:

5. brian88b

brian88b Member

State:
    Fairdale, KY