Braid or Mono for catfish

Discussion in 'LOCAL PENNSYLVANIA TALK' started by xnmcclurex, Feb 22, 2009.

1. xnmcclurex

xnmcclurex Active Member

State:
    Pittsburgh Pa
    i was wondering what Pa guys use? braid or mono and what brand?

2. readingcatfisher

readingcatfisher New Member

State:
    Berks coun
    I use spiderwire 65 with 40#mono shock leader about 4-5 feet long,but I'm a rookie never caught a flat so my opinion counts for squat,:smile2: You could use 80 or 100 braid or just 40 mono its just a preference thing again whatever suits you best

3. Bill in SC

Bill in SC New Member

State:
    South Caro
    Whether in Pa, L.A., or Fla, I recommend braid for catfishing, preferably, Power Pro!! Braid RULES!!

Bill in SC

4. kenlaw76

kenlaw76 Well-Known Member

State:
    S.E. Pa.
    I use a Braid (power pro) main line with a mono shock leader and mono leader to the hook

5. ste6168

ste6168 New Member

State:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Mono. 15lb Berkely Big Game (BBG) on a 7ft MH, 25lb BBG on a 7ft MH, 40lb BBG on an 8ft H and 9ft MH... I exclusively use spinning reels, but plan to add another rod to the arsenal. I want to get a baitcaster as a muskie rod that will double as a catfish stick. That rod I will more than likely use Suffix Performance Braid.

6. xnmcclurex

xnmcclurex Active Member

State:
    Pittsburgh Pa
    thanks for all the help guys

7. gdlocal10

gdlocal10 New Member

State:
    kansas
    I dont know about PA, but we ve tried many different types and found that for us its power pro, we use 50 or 80 lbs test in the red, I think its a ll personal preference we just kept trying them because everyone likes their brand

8. xnmcclurex

xnmcclurex Active Member

State:
    Pittsburgh Pa
    i was looking at power pro but didnt know how good it was. i dont if ill need 80lb but 40 or 50 sounds good.

9. poisonpits

poisonpits Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    arkansas
    Name:
    johnnie