Boudoin

Discussion in 'The BOC Diner' started by randallewis, Sep 29, 2007.

1. randallewis

randallewis New Member

State:
    Louisiana --Shreveport
    Need boudoin recipe.

2. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri
    What in the world is boudoin? Is it a cujun thang?

3. randallewis

randallewis New Member

State:
    Louisiana --Shreveport
    Ground pork, pork liver, onions, seasoning, rice, ect. stuffed in a casing. everything cooked of course.

4. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri
  5. redfishman

redfishman New Member

State:
    South Louisiana
    Boudin- Pronounced BOO DAN (drop the N) It is rather difficult to make. We get ours locally and its hard to beat when you have some friends come over a box of saltine crackers and beau coup cold beer. There are places that ship it ...if you're interested(I'm not a producer-just consumer) shoot me an e/mail....Mes Amis ----
    Geaux Tigers

6. Texas_Select

Texas_Select New Member

State:
    TX
    Boudin or rice dressin as we call it is time consuming but not difficult to make. We make a crawfish/jalapeno rice dressing similar to the recipe below but a seafood version with a homemade stock from boiled crawfish, fish bones and veggies. We make fried boudin balls with the dressin and use the rest to stuff chicken and quail. I do not make any in the casings.

Below is a recipe that makes a great tastin boudin. I use more heat from crushed red pepper flakes and cayenne and also some fine chopped celery in my version.

Cajun Boudin Sausage Recipe

1 1/2 lbs Pork Steak
    1/2 lb Very Fresh Pork liver (not frozen), rinsed
    1 Medium Onion, Coarsely chopped
    3 Garlic Cloves
    2 Bay Leaves
    1 Sprig Fresh Thyme
    Water to cover by 1 inch
    Kosher Salt and Black Pepper
    2 Cups Uncooked Long grain Rice
    1 Bunch Green Onions, thinly sliced
    1/2 Cup Finely Chopped Italian Parsley
    Cayenne to taste