BOC Topeka & Surounding Area

Discussion in 'LOCAL KANSAS TALK' started by River Outlaw, Feb 5, 2008.

1. River Outlaw

River Outlaw New Member

State:
    Topeka, Kansas,
    Im new to the BOC, just joined a cpl days ago. I started this thread for Topeka & surounding area BOC members for local talk.

For those who fish the Kaw there is goin to be some changes to the Topeka Blvd. bridge area I believe. My brother seen at the library the plans for development of the north & south sides of the river. As if work on the bridge wasn't bad enough on access i'm curious what new business development will do to access during construction and after. We fish around the 2 bridges in that area and have had good luck there. I personally would hate to see access restricted by business' like the old Riverfront Mall in Lawrence which is now a hotel if i'm not mistaken.

2. KC Jayhawk 78

KC Jayhawk 78 New Member

State:
    Kansas City, Ks
    You guys got any pics of cats caught out there? Do you guys fish off of that weir? Is it allowed? I just ask cause they are putting in a weir similar to Topeka's out here in KCK. Ive always wanted to come out there and fish the Kaw in Topeka, I just might have to come out that way this spring.

3. River Outlaw

River Outlaw New Member

State:
    Topeka, Kansas,
    i have a pic of my 37 lb. from there on my myspace page, myspace.com/mighty_thorr . My brothers 25 was before i got my digital camera & i still aint got pics developed yet. yeah you can fish off the weir when water is low enough but there are some draw backs. its quite a walk down to it and vehicles have been known to be broke into at where ya have to park. i aint had any problems w/ my truck the few times i been down there.

the weir they're puttin in there, it it goin in right by that peterbuilt shop along 435 ??

4. goingfishin

goingfishin New Member

State:
    Topeka, Ka
    I caught a 27# flatty off the weir. If the water is down low it is good to fish.

5. River Outlaw